More Scrounge Stuff… and possible plans!

Posted: January 20, 2009 in Angry Potatoes, Kitbash, Power Rangers, Scrounge, Star Wars, Tackleman, Transformers
Hullo again. Thunked I’d just keep folks updated on my general plans and such, mainly because I can’t think of anything funny to say today.
You know that there Scrounge pic I posted the other day, right? Well, it got me thinking about how to actually get him to work as an actual toy.

The robot mode’s pretty simple, He’s a basic humanoid robot type shape, and the only problem I can forsee is getting the head right.
The problems begin if I want to go the whole hog and make him actually transform…

Yes, he transforms into a wheel. A chuffing wheel. That has no resemblance to his robot mode.
I’ve been searching around, and I’ve seen a couple of toys that could work, one being a ridiculously shite thing from Power Rangers.

He’s called Tackleman, as far as I can guess (there were a lot of random jap-translated-to-english-by-fans type words hanging around the site, so I’m probably wrong). Yes, he’s a wheel, but he’s also incredibly rubbish.

His wheel mode is pretty much perfect, but his robot leaves a lot to be desired. Scrounge’s tummy wouldn’t be that round, he’s supposed to be a scrawny little get, not a tubby american footballer.

Another idea that was suggested by one of the lovely folk over at http://www.thetf.net/ was to use the Star Wars Transformers General Grevious Wheel Bike. Now, this guy’s wheel mode is almost right, I’d need to find a way to hide those legs, and those spikes would need to come off, but this one is definitely do-able. His robot mode to quite messy looking, but again I can see it working. I think I’d probably give Scrounge a bit more of a neck, which I think Grevious is lacking. The main problem with this one, is that I can’t find the bloody thing anywhere (actually, that’s a lie, there’s one on eBay for £40, which is silly money). If anyone sees one for cheapish, please let me know. Cheers.

My other option is to start from scratch, get the most basic TF I can find and do my best with a hammer and sellotape. This is not a good idea.

Anyway, that’s just my brain thinking out loud, any help or advice you’ve got to offer on this subject would be great. Cheers

Leave a Reply

