Cook The Books

Posted: May 12, 2014 in funky nonsense
Tags: , , , , ,

Cook The Books
(Not) by Gary Barlow
image

To the tune of Back For Good. Obviously.

I guess now it’s time for me to pay up
I feel it’s time
Got a letter from you beside me
Got your HMRC stamp still on your envelope
Did a bit of tax evasion
Got a shiny OBE
Gotta leave it, gotta leave it all behind now 

Whatever I said, whatever I did I didn’t pay it
I just had to cook the books
Whatever I missed, I saved a few quid so I’ll sing this
You’d do the same if you could

Unaware but underlined the numbers told a story
It wasn’t good
But in the corner of my mind I just saved it up and hoarded
But that was not to be
In the twist of revelation you uncovered all my schemes
Can’t you spare a quid or two for me

Whatever I said, whatever I did I didn’t pay it
I just had to cook the books
Whenever I missed, I can tell that you’re pissed and quite angry
You’ll be right and understood

And I’ll be berated, this time I can’t fake it
We’ll be fighting and forever we will be
So completely audited
I will never be so naughty again

Whatever I said, whatever I did I didn’t pay it
I just had to cook the books
Whenever I missed, I saved a few quid so I’ll sing this
You’d do the same if you could.

Comments

Leave a Reply

