Review – Stainless Steel Earth Pan by Ozeri

Posted: May 20, 2014 in cooking, Review

Hello there. How are you? Good, I’m fine. Here is a review of a frying pan.

So… 10″ of stainless steel frying pan, coated in Eterna, the world’s longest lasting 100% PFOA-free non-stick coating developed in the USA. Now, don’t go shouting at me “Oi! That’s where He-Man lives!”, because it isn’t. Don’t be silly. Anyway… shush, read the review.

Stainless Steel Earth Pan by Ozeri

Stainless Steel Earth Pan by Ozeri

So, basically, PFOAs (PerFluoroOctanoic Acud) are harmful chemicals and that, that live in cheap and nasty and old-school non-stick pans. (nearly wrote pants then. I could do with some non-stick pants). Nasty stuff, basically, that pollutes the environment and makes Sad Batman sad. Well, this pan has none of that, what with the fancy new USA-USA-USA!!! developed Eterna coating.

It’s actually pretty nifty stuff, I managed to make a lovely omelette and it didn’t stick at all. Which is unusual for an omelette from me, because they usually just end up as scrambled egg with crispy edges. So that’s a plus point. Thanks to the awesome non-stick coating, I didn’t have to use as much oil, which according to the missus is a bonus, because I don’t get a big a tummy. That said, I did have to make an omelette and bacon purely for the sake of this review, so the state of my tummy is not as good as she’d like.

The pan comes with a nice felt cover for when you put it in the cupboard, to stop anything else you put in the cupboard from scratching or damaging the non-stick coating, which I’m pretty sure is what killed Paul, my previous favourite frying pan. That said, I’m assured by the packaging that the non-stick coating is scratch resistant, although I imagine if I start scraping away with a fork it won’t last too long.

Pan protector - Activated!

Pan protector – Activated!

The pan is fairly hefty in weight, and I imagine if you felt the need to clout an intruder with it, you’d probably end up cleaning his brains and mind off the kitchen floor. Naturally, I don’t recommend, nor do I expect to do this myself, but the option is there, if you need it.

After cooking my lovely omelette, I used the last of the bacon in the fridge and that also fried lovely. You don’t need to use as much heat as with a normal pan, or so the instructions tell me. Anyway, the bacon cooked quickly and was bloody delicious and now I’m sad because I have no more bacon. Now, I’m no scientist, but I guess that’s some sort of awesome heat retention stuff going on there.

I imagine this pan will be excellent for cooking pancakes, although I may have to do a few goes in the home-gym first, as the weight of the pan may make tossing something of a painful activity. Feel free to make as many jokes as you like about my weak wrists and tossing…. Right, you done? I’ll carry on.

The handle of the pan is heat resistant, which is handy. I melted a handle on Lauren, my old pancake pan, That was a fun smell when that happened. Well, I say fun, I had to run upstairs and fill my nose with Vics Vaporub like Clarice Starling in Silence of the Lambs.

So, yeah, I like this pan lots. I have yet to think of a name for her (yeah, it’s a girl pan) so feel free to make suggestions in the comments or on twitter or on some graffiti in the style of Banksy. Actually, having mentioned Banksy, could you lot put the word out that my fence needs painting, and if he wants to do one of his satirical stencil things, then he’s free to do so, save me some money on buying Ronseal. Get him to email me or something for my address.

Oooh and I’ve just read that the pan has a magnetized bottom, which is either a really good sciencey cookery thing, or just a good reason for me to type ‘magnetized bottom’.

You can buy yourself one of these awesome bits of panny goodness HERE which I’m sure you will. Go on, do it now. Right now. Go. You can also have a look at more of Ozeri’s products on their facebook page HERE.

 

And that was my frying pan review. (oh, it was a plain omelette and smoked bacon, in case you were wondering)

Comments
  1. […] I’m better now. So I’ve reviewed one of these type of pans before, and since you’re an avid reader of all my blog posts (even the rubbish early ones where I […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

