Better with BRITA Campaign #2 – Recipe Time

Posted: June 15, 2014 in cheese, come dine with me, Competition, cooking, Fudgecrumpet, horsemeat, Sponsored Post, yummy yummy meaty goodness

Hey folks, an update on the Better with Brita campaign from a few weeks back. They’re still on the lookout for recipes using filtered water and lovely natural ingredients.

Here’s their words, which are much less splurged than the ones I type…

Better with BRITA recipe
We’d like you to be creative and make your own Better with BRITA recipe, ensuring that filtered water is a main ingredient to showcase the benefits of BRITA filters.

Whether you choose to make a soup, something delicious using stock or discover the difference when simply boiling and poaching your food in filtered water.
Using filtered water reduces the unwanted substances found in tap water (like chlorine and heavy metals) that can often affect the flavour of your ingredients, resulting in food and drink that tastes just the way it ought to.

Oh, and apparently I have to enter the competition too. Sigh.

So, yeah, I spent a long time thinking.

1. What am I able to cook?
Pancakes
Bacon
Super-noodles
Scrambled Eggs
Beef Pinwheels*
Christmas Dinner*

(*see my old food blog that I inexplicably thought would be a good idea. No you shut up.)

2. What am I able to cook that could benefit from filtered water?
Pancakes
Super-noodles
Beef Pinwheels

3. What food would the healthy lovely people at Brita like me to make, i.e. something that isn’t instant noodles or fried batter?
Beef Pinwheels

Which at least means I get to do a bit of copy and pasting for the recipe. Anyway, back in a bit, as I now have to go off and cook the damned things.

INGREDIENTS
1lb beef mince
1 cup filtered water
2 cups grated cheese
2 cups flour
1/4 cup butter
4 tsp baking powder
1 cup evaporated milk
1/2 tsp salt
1 pack beef stroganof seasoning mix (or feel free to use whatever flavouring you want, yes I know it’s cheating.)

– Brown meat, drain off fat.
– Add water and seasoning mix, heat to boiling.
– Boil gently, uncovered for 20-30 minutes or until all the water’s evaporated.
– Remove from heat, stir in 1 cup of cheese.

– Combine flour, baking powder and salt into a mixing bowl, cut in the butter. Stir in the evaporated milk.
– Knead the dough 10-15 times on a floured surface.
– Roll out to an 18″ x 10″ rectangle, then spread the meat over the dough, leaving a gap round the edges to seal.
– Roll up the pinwheel, like a swiss roll, or a home-made meat telescope.
– Cut into 1 1/2″ slices, place into a baking dish.
– Bake at 180C/Gas Mark 6 for 25 mins.
– Sprinkle remaining cheese over the pinwheels and bake for 2 more minutes so the cheese melts.

*Bullseye board finishes rotating*

…and I’m back. Well, that was fun. There were almost no fires or anything.

Yummy Yummy Beef Pinwheels

Beef Pinwheels

The filtered water really does bring out the flavours, and although I did cheat a little with the stroganof mix, I think it went rather well. Now excuse me while I deep-clean the kitchen before Gem gets home.
Om nom nom.

 

Right, now it’s your turn.

A reminder of how to enter

Submit your recipe at www.deliciousmagazine.co.uk/betterwithbrita.

Competition entries must be received by 30th June. Voting closes on 7th July when a shortlist of 10 will be chosen.
Three lucky winners could be at The Big Feastival selling their wares to all the fancy food type people. Oh yeah.

 

Comments
  1. […] possible and you should have already read my post announcing the top 10 shortlist. I even did a recipe that I entered myself, although it was bloody awful because I’m more a Super-Noodle sandwich […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

