Adventures with Canned Food

Posted: September 30, 2015 in cooking, food, Fudgecrumpet
Tags: , , , , , ,

The lovely people at cannedfood.co.uk are a non-profit organisation who exist to promote the benefits and general awesomeness of canned food.
image

Not only is stocking up on canned food a sensible precaution in the event of a zombie apocalypse, it’s also cost effective, causes less waste than constantly buying fresh stuff, and there are all kinds of different varieties of things available, from meat and veg to cake in custard, soup to all-day breakfast.

I’m a great lover of canned stuff, mainly because I spent £12 on a tin opener one time and I want to get my money’s worth.

So, to help promote canned food and show you just how easy it is to make something awesome, the lovely people sent me a big pile of food and gave me a recipe to make. I was going to do it as a video blog but Gem said I wasn’t allowed to because the kitchen was a mess. So you’ll have to make do with cleverly cropped photos and words that I have typed.

The recipe I have to do is for Red Peppers Stuffed with Meatballs, with sweet potato wedges and alioli, which is just a fancy name for garlic mayonnaise.

So, ingredients…
image

Bearing in mind that whoever sent me the ingredients went a bit bonkers with some of their purchasing (I am now the world’s most powerful cinnamon baron), this is everything needed to make yummy dinner.

INGREDIENTS

For the stuffed red pepper(
1 large red pepper
½ x 410g can meatballs, drained
½ x 290g can sliced mushrooms, drained
¼ x 390g can Eazy onions
Pinch of dried oregano
15g of mozzarella
Olive oil
Salt and freshly ground black pepper

For the sweet potato wedges
1 medium sweet potato
Pinch of cinnamon
Olive oil

For the alioli
1 tbsp good quality mayonnaise
1 clove fresh garlic, crushed

Right, you got all that? No? Well hurry off to the Co-Op, I’ll wait.

Dum de dum de dum de doooo…

Ah, there you are. Let’s do this.

1. Preheat the oven 200C/400F/Gas 6

2. Make the wedges first because they take longest…
a. Scrub the sweet potato, dry and cut in half lengthways. Cut each half into 4-6 wedges.

image

I yam what I yam

b. Put the wedges on a baking tray, sprinkle with cinnamon, season and drizzle lightly with olive oil.
image

c. Toss the wedges, so they are evenly coated, and bake on the top shelf of the oven for 30 minutes.

3. Now make the stuffed peppers, which should take about 10 minutes unless you are rubbish…
a. Cut the pepper in half through the stalk, keeping the stalk in tact and remove the seeds.

image

I cut these wrong to make hilarious internet meme screaming faces

b. Place on a baking tray lined with foil, season the inside with salt and pepper and drizzle with a little oil.
image

c. Combine the meatballs, onions and sliced mushrooms in a small bowl. Divide the mixture between the two peppers and sprinkle over a little oregano.

image

No, it's not supposed to look nice at this stage. Imagine what your mum looks like before she puts on makeup.

d. Thickly slice the mozzarella and lay over the meatballs. Season and drizzle lightly with oil.
image

e. Bake in the oven on the shelf under wedges for 20 minutes, until the filling is hot and bubbling and the pepper is tender.

4. Make the Alioli (posh name for kebab shop garlic sauce)
a. Add a crushed clove of garlic to the mayonnaise, season and mix well. That’s it. Yeah.

5. Put on a plate and take a photo for Instagram.

image

Best served with a 2015 Chateaux De Ribena.

The recipe is supposed to serve 1 but as you can see I made twice as much because I’m not a desperate single person like you are. If you want to make it for 2 people, multiply everything by 2, for example, use 2 peppers instead of 1. Maths.

I think you’ll agree that for a pile of stuff that just looked like tins and that, it’s turned out nice and looks like proper grown up food like in a restaurant that serves Ribena. Oh and it has 2 of your five a day in it, so be careful not to eat more than 3 more vegetables or something will happen probably.

So, that was fun and yummy. After I ate this I had a big bowl of meatballs, onions and mushrooms left over so I also put that in my tummy. Maybe you should do that too. Then I washed up. It took 2 hours.

Find out more about cannedfood.co.uk and for hundreds of canned food recipes, click HERE and if you ever want me to cook for you, please go and like my page on facebook because hardly anyone does and I’m lovely.

Leave a Reply

