Review – Brainwavz BLU-200 Headphones

Posted: March 29, 2016 in Fudgecrumpet
Tags: , , , , , , ,

It’s been a while since I’ve reviewed some headphones. So long in fact, I bet you even forgot I have ears.
Well I do have ears and these earphones are currently in them, providing noises, and also stopping the noises of the outside world from going into my ears because the outside world isn’t as good as my favourite podcasts.

image

So, here are the Brainwavz BLU-200 bluetooth earphones. Yeah, they look awesome.

They also sound a lot better than my previous set of bluetooth earphones, and are much niftier, with a sexy computer voice replacing painful beeps when you switch the earphones on and off.
I got sent a link to a page full of stats and technical details but I honestly have no clue what any of them mean. Have a look if you’d like, all I know is that these sound great, have a really long battery life (I usually charge mine on a weekend, then use them for my commute every day through the week, usually about 45 mins each way)

They stay in my ears quite well, replacing my previous set’s bendy ear arms (don’t know the technical term) with some rubber ‘ear hooks’ which (after some getting used to, and a bit of fiddling due to the lack of instructions) hold the earphones safely on your head.

The earphones have a nice little control pad thing on the cable, which is handy for quick answering when using the earphones as a handsfree kit, as well as easily accessible volume controls that i admit I haven’t bothered using because my phone is usually within reach.

image

With regards to range I managed the full length of my garden while my phone was plugged in the kitchen, next to the bread bin/toaster. This meant I had a nice soundtrack while picking up dog poop and throwing slugs onto the back of next door’s shed to see of they stick (60% success rate).

Unlike my previous earphones they don’t have that time delay common to bluetooth devices. This means I can watch videos on my phone without them looking like a badly dubbed movie. Although it is worth noting that if you do watch a badly dubbed movie on your phone, these earphones do nothing to improve things.

The earphones come in a lovely little case, with a selection of different sized ear bud things, as well as some fancy ones that are supposed to cut out more noise or something. I haven’t really experimented because the ear buds that come attached work just fine. Maybe I have average sized ear holes.

image

So, a glowing review? I suppose so, I haven’t really found much wrong with them, they feel nice and sturdy and look cool enough. You should definitely get a pair. Y’know, if you want to. I’m not forcing you or anything. I give them two thumbs up. Out of two. Because I only have two thumbs.

Find out more (and with fancy technical words off of science) at the Brainwavs site, or go directly to Amazon to pick up a pair.

Leave a Reply

