Jess Reviews… Goldenhand by Garth Nix

Posted: November 29, 2016 in book, book review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

As I tend to do occasionally I have passed on book reviewing duties to Jess, with Garth Nix’s Goldenhand – the fifth book in his Old Kingdom series.

Now, before we get started, neither Jess nor I have read any of Garth Nix’s stuff before, so if we offend any of you superfans by not knowing what the hell we are on about, I apologise in advance.

Right then Jess, what’s going on?

This is the fifth book in the Old Kingdom series, and continues the adventures of a girl called Lirael who I think is kind of like a wizard or something. Also the book introduces Ferin, a young nomad girl from the North who is chased by a bunch of tribes and the Necromancers.

It sounds very confusing and complicated.

It kind of is. There are so many different things going on and it moves really fast. The perspective changes very often too, so you see a lot of scenes from different points of view.

So as a new reader it’s probably a better idea to read the original stories first?

There is a trilogy of books before this, as well as a prequel and a short story. The short story actually is supposed to happen at the same time as this story and is a main part of the romantic bit of the story.

I think this book isn’t written for new readers, more like established fans.

There were bits you liked though?

I liked the romance with Nicholas, that was cute. I enjoyed reading the book but I think I would have enjoyed it more if I had read the other books.

Is that a request for me to buy you more things?

Of course it is.

So was there anything you’d improve about this book?

I think the ending could have been a bit better. It just sort of finishes and you don’t really see what happens to the characters, which is kind of disappointing because most of the book is spent getting them all ready for the end and then it just stops.

Was the book easy to read?

I didn’t have any trouble with the language or the style, it’s not like it tries to be like The Lord of the Rings by sounding like an old fashioned book. I think it is age appropriate for me. (Jess is 12)

Who would you recommend this book to?

Well, I know this sort of book is usually more for boys but the characters are really strong girl characters so I think this would be good for boys or girls. I would suggest they try and read the first three books first and maybe the prequel.

Thanks Jess. I’m gonna have to go to Amazon and buy a load of books now aren’t I?

Yup.

You can pick up your copy of Garth Nix’s Goldenhand at all good bookshops, and HERE on Amazon. 

Leave a Reply

