Review – Flint Croutons

Posted: June 7, 2017 in Fudgecrumpet
Tags: , , , ,

For the first time in what seems like aaaages, I’ve been sent something to review. While it isn’t a pair of Playstation VR goggles or a giant robot toaster, it is snack food, and I’m OK with that.

These are Flint Croutons, little bags of snacks that are a baked bread alternative to crisps. 

They come in all manner of flavours including…

  • American Burger
  • Bacon 
  • Pizza 
  • Burrito
  • Veal
  • Baked Meat
  • Salami 
  • Aspic with Horseradish
  • Kebab
  • Lard with Horseradish
  • Cheese
  • Smoked Sausage
  • Sour Cream and Herb
  • Spicy Tomato
  • Garlic

Only slightly disappointingly, I wasn’t sent lard flavoured croutons, I was given the chance to try the American Burger, Sour Cream & Herb and Cheese flavours.

I know what you’re thinking, ‘Fudgey, I want to see you in the nude doing a funky dance’ and I disapprove. Behave yourself. I also know that you’re thinking, ‘Fudgey, you can’t have croutons without soup, you bloody loony!’

Well, these croutons are packaged, and flavoured as an alternative to crisps, think along the lines of something you’d find in a Graze box or some sort of overpriced health food shop. I mean, you probably could put these in soup. You could do that. I won’t stop you.

Right, the taste test.

STREET FOOD – AMERICAN BURGER

These were the first of the croutons I tasted and I was not prepared for the amount of flavour. Like most ‘burger’ flavoured snacks you really have to squint your taste buds to say the flavour is accurate, but I would say the flavour is somewhere between a very meaty bbq beef flavour and spicy tomato.

SOUR CREAM WITH HERBS

This one had the mildest flavour of all the croutons I tried, and was Gem and the kids’ favourite. These are quite nice, kind of like sour cream and chive Pringles, but with less off an onion-y aftertaste.

CHEESE

Good grief these are cheesy. Imagine the cheesiest cheese you have ever tasted then double it and multiply by cheese. Cheese. Cheese. So much cheese.

Cheese.

Cheese. Cheese.

Each of these 80g bags contains a good 2 portions, in so much as Gem had to hide her packet from herself so she wouldn’t binge it all. As an alternative to crisps these are great, full of flavour and satisfyingly crunchy.

The only downside I’ve found is that the packets are written almost completely in foreignese, so I can’t tell you interesting facts about fat, sugar, fibre and such. I imagine this is because the snacks have only recently been introduced over here so they haven’t got around to making english packaging.

I’m gonna get myself some of the lard flavoured ones. Just because.

So, yeah, these are bloody lovely. You can find out more on Flint Croutons’ WEBSITE, or follow them on Twitter and tell them Fudgey sent ya.

Cheese.

Comments
  1. fudgecrumpet says:

    There’s a link to their site on the post. Maybe try clicking that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

